HAT image selection

New ORTOVOX off-piste tour with Henry’s Avalanche Talk re-launches in 2022

Henry’s Avalanche Talk (HAT) is back during autumn 2022 with the ORTOVOX off-piste tour, including talks from HAT founder Henry Schniewind in 16 venues across England and Scotland.

The tour will also include a number of outdoor avalanche transceiver training sessions led by members of the HAT team.

The events are aimed at all skiers and snowboarders looking to venture off-piste or go ski touring: from beginners (as a point of departure) to the more experienced (as a guide to focus on accident reduction) and even for professionals (as a client-training tool and memory aid).

There are two tiers of HAT talks, the Essentials and In-Depth. It’s crucial that participants join an Essentials Talk before attending the In-Depth one.

The message of the 2022 talks is how to implement accident reduction measures to prevent being caught in an avalanche, when considering that 90% of all avalanche accidents are caused by the victims. The goal of HAT is to help skiers get the most from their time in the mountains, stay safe and have fun.

Henry will be giving an accident reduction card to everyone that attends the talks. This includes the HAT accident reduction framework which contains prompts to help skiers apply key points to reduce avalanche accidents and to stay safe.

Henry said: “Using aids like this is a proven technique to help people apply the key safety points that can keep them as safe around avalanche terrain as the risks we encounter in our everyday activities, such as driving a car if they are applied”.

FREE offer and more information: In view of this year’s Tour, Henry has made a new FREE Mini Talk entitled ‘Avalanche Safety in 15 minutes’, which underscores the HAT ‘Safety is Freedom’ spirit.

“A great point of departure for helping people apply the key points for safer, more enjoyable ventures off-piste and ski touring. It can save your life”.  

The HAT framework for skiers includes the question ‘Is it safe’? The answer is, ‘it depends on you’. The framework highlights three areas including the decision making process of ‘where you go’, the risk reduction measures of ‘how you go’ and finally the crisis management scenarios when ‘preparing for rescue’. These kinds of frameworks are used in other areas including the military, aviation and surgery.

Says Anthony “AB” Bourke, Keynote Speaker and CEO of Mach 2 Air Shows, said: “As a former F-16 pilot and United Airlines pilot I strongly believe in Henry’s suggested use of checklists, frameworks and memory aids for all skiers who are going off piste. His disciplined approach has saved numerous lives in the world of aviation and healthcare and will continue to help make skiers safer off-piste and touring”.

The HAT framework ‘quick view’ available here: henrysavalanchetalk.com/off-piste-quick-reference

2022 Tour dates

Tuesday, 1 November – Ellis Brigham Covent Garden (Essentials)
Wednesday, 2 November – Ellis Brigham Covent Garden (In depth)
Tuesday, 8 November – Ellis Brigham St Pauls (Essentials)
Wednesday, 9 November – Ellis Brigham St Pauls (In depth)
Monday, 14 November – Ellis Brigham Milton Keynes (Essentials)
Tuesday, 15 November – Ellis Brigham Milton Keynes (In depth)
Wednesday, 16 November – Ellis Brigham Manchester (Essentials)
Thursday, 17 November – Ellis Brigham Manchester (In depth)
Friday, 18 November – Kendal (Essentials)
Saturday, 19 November – Kendal           
Sunday, 20 November – Kendal
Monday, 21 November – Ellis Brigham Braehead (Essentials)
Tuesday, 22 November – Ellis Brigham Braehead (In depth)
Wednesday, 23 November – Ellis Brigham Tamworth (Essentials)
Thursday, 24 November – Ellis Brigham Tamworth (In depth)
Wednesday, 30 November – Ellis Brigham Bristol (Essentials)
 
Avalanche Transceiver Training sessions:

Saturday, 5 November – Wimbledon Common
Sunday, 6 November – Wimbledon Common
Saturday, 12 November – Sandbanks
Sunday, 13 November – Sandbanks
Saturday, 19 November – Manchester
Sunday, 20 November – Manchester
Saturday, 26 November – Wimbledon Common
Sunday, 27 November – Wimbledon Common
Sunday, 18 December – Wimbledon Common
Saturday, 7 January – Sandbanks
Sunday, 8 January – Wimbledon Common
Saturday, 18 February – Wimbledon Common
Sunday, 19 February – Wimbledon Common
 
Webinars (all 18:00 hrs)
 
Monday, 10 October
Monday, 17 October
Monday, 24 October
 
Booking: henrysavalanchetalk.com/the-off-piste-awareness-tour/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.